The MOCA GA Working Artist Project (WAP) is an awards program to support established visual artists of merit who reside in the metropolitan Atlanta area. This initiative provides an unparalleled level of support for individual artists, expands the Museum’s mission, and promotes Atlanta as a city where artists can live, work, and thrive. As with past years, a guest juror will select three visual artists to receive the Award. Representing our city’s best and brightest; these artists will be supported with an exhibition, promotion, a studio assistant, and a major stipend to create work over the course of the year. This program is supported in large by a grant from The Charles Loridans Foundation with additional funding from the National Endowment for the Arts.

This year MOCA GA will provide the 2015/2016 WAP award recipients each with a stipend of $15,000; a paid studio apprentice for up to 300 hours at $10 per hour; an opportunity to interface with collectors, artists, and the public through programming and studio visits; an opportunity to interface with collectors, artists, and the public through programming and studio visits; documentation of the artist and work via MOCA GA’s Oral History Project & Education/Research Center; Presentation of a solo exhibition at MOCA GA of new works created at during the WAP grant period; inclusion of one (1) new work from the solo exhibition in the MOCA GA permanent collection; and production of an accompanying full-color exhibition solo catalogue.

2014/2015 WAP winners (left to right): Sarah Emerson, Sheila Pree Bright, Siri Engberg (guest juror), and Jonathan Bouknight

Jonathan Bouknight

Opening Fri, July 17th 6:30pm

July 18 - Sept 12, 2015

Sheila Pree Bright

Opening Fri, Sept 25th 6:30pm

Sept 26 - Nov 28, 2015

Sarah Emerson

Opening Fri, Dec 11th 6:30pm

Dec 12, 2015 – Feb 6, 2016

Scott Ingram (2013/2014) E.K. Huckaby (2013/2014) Fahamu Pecou (2013/2014)
Jiha Moon (2012/2013) Katherine Taylor (2012/2013) Shara Hughes (2012/2013)
Gregor Turk (2011/2012)
Martha Whittington (2011/2012)
Brian Dettmer (2011/2012)
Xie Caomin (2010/2011)
Micah Stansell (2010/2011)
Katherine Mitchell (2010/2011)
Matt Haffner (2008/2009)
Marcia R. Cohen (2008/2009)
Maria Artemis (2008/2009)
Larry Walker (2007/2008)
Don Cooper (2007/2008)
Danielle Roney (2007/2008)
WAP Fellows at announcement of 2014/2015 WAP winners

WAP Fellows at announcement of 2013/2014 WAP winners with Franklin Sirmans, Bob Edge, and Annette Cone-Skelton